On the License Edit/New pane, two lookups exist. When the user chooses to link records, the lookup is mandatory in both cases. When the users saves the license, validation should be applied using a consistent UX pattern and also meet accessibility standards.
1 Display consistent validation message
When a license is saved without the Organization lookup having being completed, the validation message "Please fill this in to continue" should not replace this text:
- No organization linked
- Link an organization to get started
Instead the validation message should be displayed underneath this text, on a third line. The Internal Contacts lookup shown below adopts the correct pattern.
2. Give focus to lookup button
Each of the buttons listed below should be given focus when the user saves and no lookup has been completed.
- Link user
- Link organization